Don’t Fail to Try. Try to Fail.

Not very long ago, I read this statement in a book and it is unfortunate I am not able to recollect the exact source. Apologies for that and I will edit this once my memory comes back to aid..

Don’t Fail to Try. Try to Fail.

Once I read it,  it sounded very deep and didn’t make much sense. It was when I re-read it again a couple of times immediately that I admired the writer’s marvellous play of words. And it struck such a chord,  that it became a mantra I attempt to abide and live by.  Well, mostly.

The key takeaway here being,  that the first step you take towards a goal / habit, is the longest and hardest. It is like standing in front of Mt Everest and being so overwhelmed by the enormity of the task and the string of actions, that you do not even take that crucial first step. It is when we fail to take that very step,  that we actually fail.  Failure in mind and in action.  But if we can look beyond that initial deluge of “holding-us-back” emotions, and can resolve to at least try to fail once, that we start on the path of making a mole out of the mountain. ( And not the other way around).

Be it giving up an old bad habit,  or taking up a new one, do not fail and falter at the first step. Giving it an honest attempt, even if we know we may fail,  will be a positive step in the right direction.   So go,  and try to fail today !!